Jewel of Renaissance architecture , the villa was designed by Raphael for Giulio de ‘ Medici, the future Pope Clement VII. At the death of the artist his work was continued by Giulio Romano and Antonio da Sangallo the Younger , who took care of the final design. The loggia was begun by Raphael himself and completed by his pupils Giulio Romano , Giovanni da Udine and Francesco Penni. It’s frescoes and painted stuccoes are among the most beautiful of the roman Renaissance.
The Villa, so named after Madama Margherita of Austria, daughter of Charles V and wife of Ottavio Farnese then passed over to his heirs and subsequently to the Bourbons , until in 1913, by the time heavily degraded, was purchased by an engineer from Toulouse in love with Rome, who had it restored by the architect Marcello Piacentini . Since 1941 it is owned by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Is used as a representative seat during institutional and diplomatic meetings.